Home › Best buys › Block and property managers
Best buys
Best block management software for UK managing agents in 2026
Seven block management systems for UK managing agents, scored on the jobs each covers, independent reviews, a price you can read and client accounts.

Block management software is the ledger a managing agent runs on: budgets, demands, receipts, supplier payments and the year-end accounts for every block, with a portal for leaseholders and a diary for the building's inspections. Most suppliers publish no price and independent reviews are scarce, so a shortlist is hard to build from a desk.
We scored seven products sold to UK managing agents on what their own pages say, read on 1 October 2026, and priced each for the same firm: 40 blocks, about 1,200 units and five staff logins. Three publish a price that firm can work out in full, two publish part of one and two publish nothing.
Two of the seven, Fixflo and Dwellant, are not accounts systems. They are here because block managers buy them to sit beside one, and a buyer comparing quotes will meet both names.
Overlyft is an AI agency that can set up an AI assistant for block and property managers. It is not block management software and it is not in this list.
At a glance
- Best for one yearly price with the portal includedResident£5,995 a year before VAT: the 2,000-unit band, the first above 1,200 units, with unlimited users and the leaseholder portal included. A £500 set-up fee is charged once
- Best for paying by the module with no minimum termBlocks OnlineBlock Management module: £100 plus 1,200 units at 15p is £280 a month, £3,360 a year before VAT. With the Property Portal (£50 plus £180 a month) it is £6,120 a year; all four modules are £16,440
- Best for a flat monthly fee and a 30-day exitBlockmanPackage 3 (1,001 to 2,000 units): £450 a month, £5,400 a year before VAT. The MyBlockman portal at 15p a unit adds £180 a month: £7,560 a year with it
- Best for large portfolios that want one platformMRI Qube PMPrice not published; quote on request
- Best for firms that also manage commercial propertyPropmanPrice not published; quote on request after a demonstration
- Best for repairs and planned maintenance beside an accounts systemFixfloPrice on request plus a £75 a month software fee, which is £900 a year before VAT; set-up fees are extra and not published. Minimum 50 properties
- Best for compliance and resident portals on top of your ledgerDwellantFrom £4.99 a unit on Premium, the package that includes compliance; the page does not say whether that is a month or a year. 1,200 units is £5,988 for that period. Quote on request
1. Best for one yearly price with the portal included
Resident
Resident's price page gives a 1,200-unit firm one yearly figure with the leaseholder portal already in it: £5,995 for the 2,000-unit band, plus £500 to set up. Its pages state budgets, service charge demands across unlimited schedules, bank feeds for client accounts with online reconciliation, works orders emailed to contractors, an alert when proposed spending reaches the Section 20 threshold and email reminders for insurance renewals and health and safety assessments. The ticketing module is extra at £86.95 a month, which is £1,043.40 a year. The page does not say whether a band is the most units it covers; we have read it that way. Independent evidence is thin: 4.9 from 7 reviews on Capterra UK and none on Trustpilot.
Pros
- A yearly price for every portfolio size from 50 to 20,000 units
- Unlimited users and the leaseholder portal in every band
- Section 20 threshold alerts and compliance reminders stated
Cons
- Only 7 independent reviews read
- Ticketing, bank feeds and supplier invoice processing are add-ons
- Priced by the year, with a set-up fee on top
| Price | £5,995 a year before VAT: the 2,000-unit band, the first above 1,200 units, with unlimited users and the leaseholder portal included. A £500 set-up fee is charged once |
|---|---|
| Best for | Managing agents who want to know the yearly cost before they speak to anyone |
| Set-up | £500 set-up fee; units, owners and schedules imported from CSV files; a 15-day free trial |
2. Best for paying by the module with no minimum term
Blocks Online
Blocks Online sells four modules, each a monthly base fee plus pence per unit, with unlimited users, no set-up fee and no minimum contract. For 1,200 units the Block Management module is £3,360 a year, the Property Portal adds £2,760, and all four modules come to £16,440. The core module states demands, yearly budgets, supplier invoices, separate bank accounts for service charge, ground rent and reserve money with reconciliation, and a diary for insurance renewals and health and safety assessments. Repairs sit in the Ticketing module at £100 plus 30p a unit a month. We read no independent reviews: its Trustpilot profile had none and we found no Capterra UK listing.
Pros
- The lowest published price for the ledger alone: £3,360 a year
- Separate bank accounts and reconciliation stated on its page
- Monthly payment, unlimited users, no minimum contract
Cons
- No independent reviews read
- Portal, ticketing and credit control are each a separate fee
- The page says discounts exist but not what they are
| Price | Block Management module: £100 plus 1,200 units at 15p is £280 a month, £3,360 a year before VAT. With the Property Portal (£50 plus £180 a month) it is £6,120 a year; all four modules are £16,440 |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms that want the ledger first and the portal, ticketing and credit control later |
| Set-up | No set-up fee; migration tools for data from an old system |
3. Best for a flat monthly fee and a 30-day exit
Blockman
Blockman charges one monthly fee set by a unit band, with every accounting feature in every band and unlimited staff accounts. A 1,200-unit firm is in Package 3 at £450 a month, and the contract can be cancelled on 30 days' notice. Its pages state service charge demands across lease schedules, budgets, BACS supplier payments, a balance sheet for each block and works orders emailed to contractors. A compliance diary and client bank accounts are not stated. A second price table in the same page, built for smaller screens, shows the portal at 20p a unit for this band, not 15p, and a £195 starting price where the main table says £250. Confirm both. Trustpilot shows 3.8 from 2 reviews.
Pros
- Full price on the page, with unlimited staff accounts
- Cancel at any time on 30 days' notice
- Not sold in modules: the only add-on is the portal
Cons
- Two versions of the price table on one page
- No compliance diary or client bank accounts stated
- Only 2 independent reviews read
| Price | Package 3 (1,001 to 2,000 units): £450 a month, £5,400 a year before VAT. The MyBlockman portal at 15p a unit adds £180 a month: £7,560 a year with it |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms that want all the accounting in one fee and no long contract |
| Set-up | Online onboarding sessions included; further training or migration help at £150 an hour |
4. Best for large portfolios that want one platform
MRI Qube PM
Qube PM is the system a buyer will hear named first. MRI's page counts more than 230 block management clients in the UK and says their portfolios hold over 60% of the units managed by members of The Property Institute. The pages state service charge accounting with budgeting and reconciliation, a resident portal, planned and reactive maintenance with contractor portals, and asset compliance and inspections. Demands and client bank accounts are not named on the pages we read, which is a gap in the page and not proof of a gap in the product. No price is published, so a 1,200-unit firm cannot budget without a sales call. The Trustpilot profile, 4.7 from 3,551 reviews, covers every MRI product worldwide.
Pros
- The largest stated block client base of the seven
- Accounting, portal, maintenance and compliance on one platform
- A large review count, though not for this product alone
Cons
- No price published
- Demands and client bank accounts not named on its pages
- Set-up and migration terms not stated
| Price | Price not published; quote on request |
|---|---|
| Best for | Managing agents with several thousand units and an accounts team |
| Set-up | Not stated |
5. Best for firms that also manage commercial property
Propman
Propman, from Grosvenor Systems, is accounting-led software for block, residential and commercial portfolios, and its site says over 100 UK companies use it. The pages state client and service charge accounts, budgets for each property, demand production, balancing charges worked out automatically, arrears chasing, maintenance jobs with contractor workflows and key-date tracking. Portals for tenants, clients and suppliers are sold as additions. No price appears anywhere on the site; every route ends at a demonstration request. Independent evidence is close to nil: the supplier's Trustpilot profile holds one review, at 3.2. All five jobs are stated, which is why it sits level with Fixflo despite scoring nothing for price or evidence.
Pros
- All five jobs stated on its own pages
- Client and service charge accounts named
- Covers commercial and mixed portfolios in the same system
Cons
- No price published
- One independent review read
- Portals are sold separately
| Price | Price not published; quote on request after a demonstration |
|---|---|
| Best for | Agents with blocks and commercial or mixed estates who want one ledger for both |
| Set-up | Tailored implementation and training; the cost is not stated |
6. Best for repairs and planned maintenance beside an accounts system
Fixflo
Fixflo is not an accounts system. It is repairs, planned maintenance and compliance software that sits beside one. Leaseholders report communal faults through a branded portal with pictures, the firm instructs contractors and tracks their compliance documents, and statutory and planned maintenance events are scheduled with reminders. The block pricing page shows four tiers, all on request, plus the £75 monthly software fee and unlimited users; the contractor marketplace is from 30p a unit a month. Trustpilot shows 4.0 from 238 reviews across all Fixflo products, not the block edition alone. It scores on evidence and on the two jobs it does, and nothing on accounting.
Pros
- Repairs, contractor instruction and planned maintenance are the whole product
- 238 independent reviews on Trustpilot
- Unlimited users on every tier
Cons
- No service charge accounting, budgets or demands
- The main price is on request
- A second system to pay for and connect
| Price | Price on request plus a £75 a month software fee, which is £900 a year before VAT; set-up fees are extra and not published. Minimum 50 properties |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms whose inbox is mostly repair reports and whose risk is a missed inspection |
| Set-up | Set-up fees apply and are not published; training, customisation and data migration each from £300 plus VAT |
7. Best for compliance and resident portals on top of your ledger
Dwellant
Dwellant describes itself as the operational layer that connects to your accounting software, not a replacement for it. Its pages state resident and director portals, contractor management, purchase orders and invoice approval, inspections, and a compliance hub for assets and building safety records. The packages page shows from £2.99 a unit on Lite, £3.99 on Standard and £4.99 on Premium, but not the period, and sends you to a quote. Compliance is listed under Premium only. Trustpilot shows 2.9 from 33 reviews, the lowest average of the seven; the reviewers include contractors paid through it as well as property managers.
Pros
- Compliance, inspections and contractor control in one product
- A from-price per unit on its own page
- Works with the accounts system you already have
Cons
- No service charge accounting of its own
- The price has no stated period and ends in a quote
- Trustpilot average of 2.9
| Price | From £4.99 a unit on Premium, the package that includes compliance; the page does not say whether that is a month or a year. 1,200 units is £5,988 for that period. Quote on request |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms that already have an accounts system and want compliance, contractors and residents in one place |
| Set-up | The page says onboarding is included: its team builds and connects the platform |
Side by side
| Resident | Blocks Online | Blockman | MRI Qube PM | Propman | Fixflo | Dwellant | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Service charge accounting | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No; links to your accounts system |
| Budgets and demands | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes for budgets; demands not stated | Yes | No | Not stated |
| Leaseholder portal | Yes, included | Yes, as a paid module | Yes, as a paid add-on | Yes | Yes, as an addition | No; a repair reporting portal only | Yes |
| Repairs and works orders | Yes; ticketing module extra | Yes, in the Ticketing module | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Compliance diary | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes, as key dates | Yes | Yes, on Premium |
| Client bank accounts stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, client accounts named | No | No |
| Price for 1,200 units, a year | £5,995 | £3,360; £6,120 with portal | £5,400; £7,560 with portal | Not published | Not published | £900 fee plus a quote | No period stated |
| Staff logins | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited, fair usage | Not stated | Not stated | Unlimited | Not stated |
| Independent reviews read | 4.9 from 7, Capterra UK | None | 3.8 from 2, Trustpilot | 4.7 from 3,551, Trustpilot, all MRI | 3.2 from 1, Trustpilot | 4.0 from 238, Trustpilot, all products | 2.9 from 33, Trustpilot |
| Price | £5,995 a year before VAT: the 2,000-unit band, the first above 1,200 units, with unlimited users and the leaseholder portal included. A £500 set-up fee is charged once | Block Management module: £100 plus 1,200 units at 15p is £280 a month, £3,360 a year before VAT. With the Property Portal (£50 plus £180 a month) it is £6,120 a year; all four modules are £16,440 | Package 3 (1,001 to 2,000 units): £450 a month, £5,400 a year before VAT. The MyBlockman portal at 15p a unit adds £180 a month: £7,560 a year with it | Price not published; quote on request | Price not published; quote on request after a demonstration | Price on request plus a £75 a month software fee, which is £900 a year before VAT; set-up fees are extra and not published. Minimum 50 properties | From £4.99 a unit on Premium, the package that includes compliance; the page does not say whether that is a month or a year. 1,200 units is £5,988 for that period. Quote on request |
How we ranked them
What counted: five jobs covered (service charge accounting, budgets and demands, a leaseholder portal, repairs and works orders, a compliance diary) at 0.4 each, up to 2 points; independent reviews with a count, up to 1.5; a full UK price for the example firm that can be read without a sales call, up to 1; client bank accounts for service charge money stated on the supplier's own page, 0.5.
We read each supplier's product and pricing pages in a browser on 1 October 2026 and recorded what each says. Every price is from the supplier's own page, before VAT, worked out to a year for the example firm. We ran no trials and asked for no quotes, so the scores measure what is published, not how the software performs.
"Not stated" means the pages we read did not mention it. That is an absence of a statement, not proof the product cannot do it. For the client account half point we looked for wording that the system holds client accounts or separate bank accounts for service charge money. No page says in terms that each block has its own trust account, so ask each supplier to show you one.
Review counts are from Trustpilot and Capterra UK on the same day; G2 would not load for us. Evidence scores 0.5 for 1 to 9 reviews, 1 for 10 to 99 and 1.5 for 100 or more, less 0.5 where the average is under 3.5 and less 0.5 where the profile covers all of a company's products. A job a page states only in part counts 0.2. Totals are rounded to the nearest half. Trace Solutions is left out: it publishes no price, and residential block managers are one of five sectors its pages address.
Questions people ask
How much does block management software cost in the UK?
On the supplier pages we read on 1 October 2026, a firm with 1,200 units would pay £3,360 a year for Blocks Online's core module (£6,120 with its portal), £5,400 for Blockman (£7,560 with its portal) and £5,995 for Resident with the portal included, all before VAT. Fixflo shows a £75 monthly fee plus a quoted price. MRI and Propman publish nothing, and Dwellant shows a from-price per unit without saying the period.
Which block management software is cheapest for a small managing agent?
For 50 units, Resident's smallest band is £875 a year plus a £500 set-up fee, and Blocks Online's core module is £100 a month plus 15p a unit, which is £1,290 a year. Blockman's desktop price page starts at £250 a month for up to 250 units, £3,000 a year. Those are published prices before VAT on 1 October 2026. Blocks Online says discounted pricing is available on enquiry.
Does block management software keep a separate client account for each block?
Service charge money is held on trust under section 42 of the Landlord and Tenant Act 1987, so buyers ask this first. On 1 October 2026 Blocks Online's page stated separate bank accounts for service charge, ground rent and reserve money with reconciliation, Resident's stated bank feeds for all client accounts, and Propman's named client and service charge accounts. Blockman's and MRI's pages did not say. None said in terms that every block has its own account, so ask to see it in a demonstration.
Which block management software helps with Section 20?
Only Resident's pages stated it on 1 October 2026: an alert when proposed spending on repairs reaches the major works threshold, and templates for the notices. Consultation is needed when any one leaseholder's share of the works is over £250, so the test turns on the largest share in the block. The other six sets of pages did not mention Section 20. Software can flag the threshold; the notices and the two 30-day periods still need a person to check them.
Why do Qube and Propman score below smaller products?
The score counts what a buyer can read without a sales call. MRI and Propman publish no price, which costs each a full point, and neither has a review profile for its block product alone: MRI's 3,551 Trustpilot reviews cover the whole company, and Propman's supplier has one review. Both state nearly all five jobs. A firm with several thousand units may weigh scale and migration support more heavily than this score does.
Does a small managing agent need block management software at all?
The law does not require it. The law requires what the software produces: demands that carry the summary of rights and the landlord's name and address, costs demanded or notified within 18 months, and a cost summary a qualified accountant can certify in a block of more than four flats. A firm with a few blocks can do that with general accounting software and a diary. The published prices we read on 1 October 2026 start at £875 a year.
AEO Lookup editorial team
We write practical guides for people who run small UK firms, and we check every fact against its source on the date shown. Read how we review, or tell us if something has changed.



