Home › Best buys › Solicitors
Best buys
Best practice management software for small UK law firms in 2026
Seven practice and case management systems for a small law firm, scored on jobs covered, independent reviews, a UK price you can read and SRA accounts.

A small firm in England and Wales buys practice management software to do two things at once: run the matters and keep the client and office ledgers the SRA Accounts Rules require. Most suppliers say they do both. Far fewer say what it costs.
We read seven suppliers' own pages on 1 October 2026 and priced each for one firm: five fee earners and three support staff, eight logins in all. Three of the seven show a price in pounds. Two of those, Osprey Approach and Hoowla, show enough to work out a year's bill; Clio shows a starting figure for one plan of three. The other four ask for a form or a meeting.
Overlyft is an AI agency that can set up an AI assistant for small law firms. It is not practice management software and it is not in this list.
At a glance
- Best for independent evidenceClio ManageCore plan from £79 per user a month: 8 users is £632 a month, £7,584 a year at the starting price. The page does not say whether VAT is included. Signature and Elite plans are quoted
- Best for a full price list with accounts includedOsprey ApproachAdvanced plan at £110 per licence a month: 8 licences is £880 a month, £10,560 a year before VAT. Premium at £140 is £13,440 a year. Minimum three licences
- Best for one plan with everything in itLEAPPrice not published; quote on request. The pricing page describes one monthly subscription per user and asks for a form
- Best for the lowest published priceHoowla£48 per user a month: 8 users is £384 a month, £4,608 a year before VAT. Conveyancing teams pay £24.50 for each completed case in place of a user fee
- Best for accounts with a cashiering service alongsideQuill (Dye & Durham)Price not published; quote on request
- Best for firms that choose on the accountsInsight LegalPrice not published; quote on request. The pricing link on the site led to a page-not-found error on the day
- Best for a larger firm that wants to build its own workflowsActionstepPrice not published; quote on request. The page says it is priced per user plus implementation fees
1. Best for independent evidence
Clio Manage
Clio is the most reviewed system here: 4.7 from 1,748 reviews on Capterra UK. The Core plan covers matters, time recording, billing, a client portal, conflict checks and client accounting with separate client and office ledgers, which its page says helps a firm manage client accounts in line with the SRA Accounts Rules. It connects to Xero or QuickBooks for the firm's own books, and property searches run through InfoTrack. Its pages do not mention identity or anti-money-laundering checks, and advanced document automation is a paid add-on. Only Core shows a price, £79 a user a month as a starting figure, so eight users start at £7,584 a year. Workflow automation and matter stages need Signature, which is quoted.
Pros
- 1,748 Capterra UK reviews, averaging 4.7
- Client and office ledgers and reconciliation inside the product
- You can cancel at the end of a monthly or annual term and export data for 90 days after
Cons
- Only the Core plan shows a price, and only as a starting figure
- Identity and anti-money-laundering checks not stated
- Workflow automation and matter stages need the quoted Signature plan
| Price | Core plan from £79 per user a month: 8 users is £632 a month, £7,584 a year at the starting price. The page does not say whether VAT is included. Signature and Elite plans are quoted |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms that want cloud software with a starting price on the page and the largest body of independent reviews |
| Set-up | Free trial; virtual training on Core, live onboarding training on Signature and Elite |
2. Best for a full price list with accounts included
Osprey Approach
Osprey publishes more of its terms than any other supplier here: £110 a licence a month on Advanced and £140 on Premium, before VAT, a three-licence minimum, a standard 36-month agreement and a 5% rise in licence prices on each anniversary. Eight licences on Advanced come to £10,560 in the first year. Both plans include case management, more than 50 templated workflows, time recording and a law office accounting suite with client and office bank reconciliations, described as SRA and MTD compliant. Searches, AP1s and Stamp Duty returns run through InfoTrack. The client portal costs £10 a licence a month extra on Advanced. Independent evidence is thin: 3.9 from 30 reviews on Capterra UK.
Pros
- Prices, minimum, term and yearly increase all on the page
- Legal accounts, workflows and unlimited online training in both priced plans
- Identity, funds and anti-money-laundering checks offered at onboarding
Cons
- Standard term is 36 months, with licence prices rising 5% a year
- 30 Capterra UK reviews, averaging 3.9
- The InMyNameKYC onboarding tool is a separate licence, £125 a month billed annually
| Price | Advanced plan at £110 per licence a month: 8 licences is £880 a month, £10,560 a year before VAT. Premium at £140 is £13,440 a year. Minimum three licences |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms that want case management and legal accounts in one product and need to budget before speaking to anyone |
| Set-up | Named implementation project manager and unlimited online training; data migration is quoted separately |
3. Best for one plan with everything in it
LEAP
LEAP sells one plan: matter management, document automation, time recording and billing, and legal accounting with client and office accounts built in, which its page says complies with SRA rules. The nominal ledger is kept in Xero. For conveyancers it orders searches and submits AP1 and Stamp Duty forms through InfoTrack, which also supplies electronic client onboarding; the England and Wales pages we read do not spell out anti-money-laundering checks. It holds 4.3 from 547 reviews on Capterra UK. The price is behind a form, and the page says it depends on user numbers, data migration, implementation and training, so a firm cannot budget from the website.
Pros
- One plan covering case management, documents, billing and accounts
- 547 Capterra UK reviews, averaging 4.3
- Searches, AP1 and Stamp Duty forms through InfoTrack
Cons
- No price on the website
- Migration, implementation and training are priced case by case
- The nominal ledger needs Xero
| Price | Price not published; quote on request. The pricing page describes one monthly subscription per user and asks for a form |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms that want a single subscription covering case management, documents and accounts, and will sit through a sales call to price it |
| Set-up | Quoted, with data migration, implementation and training |
4. Best for the lowest published price
Hoowla
Hoowla has the lowest published price here and an unusual one: £48 a user a month for most work, and for conveyancing a charge of £24.50 for each completed case, with nothing to pay for cases that fall through. Its calculator gave us £384 a month before VAT for eight users, which is £4,608 a year, on a rolling contract with no setup fee. The product covers workflows, document automation, time recording, office and client accounting, AML checks, Stamp Duty submissions and Land Registry forms, and its page says its controls support compliance with the SRA Accounts Rules. Independent evidence is weak: seven Trustpilot reviews averaging 2.3, and one review on Capterra UK.
Pros
- A price calculator on the site, with no sales call needed
- Rolling contract, no setup fee, free training
- Conveyancing is charged for each completed case, not for each user
Cons
- Seven Trustpilot reviews averaging 2.3; one review on Capterra UK
- Migration is priced on request
- The fee for each case only falls below £24.50 above 30 completions a month
| Price | £48 per user a month: 8 users is £384 a month, £4,608 a year before VAT. Conveyancing teams pay £24.50 for each completed case in place of a user fee |
|---|---|
| Best for | Conveyancing-led firms that would sooner pay for each completed case than for each login |
| Set-up | Free training and no setup fee; migration is quoted separately |
5. Best for accounts with a cashiering service alongside
Quill (Dye & Durham)
Quill's website now redirects to Dye & Durham, which sells the practice management, legal accounts and conveyancing modules under its own name. The pages cover case and document management with templates, time recording and billing, client and office ledgers, client identity verification and AML checks, and a conveyancing module with online Stamp Duty submission. Dye & Durham says the accounts software is compliant with the SRA Accounts Rules, and it lists legal cashiering and payroll as services beside the software. No price appears on any page we read. The Capterra UK listing, still under the Quill name, shows 4.0 from 24 reviews.
Pros
- All six jobs we scored are described on its pages
- Legal cashiering and payroll offered as services
- Conveyancing module with Stamp Duty submission and identity checks
Cons
- No price on the website
- 24 Capterra UK reviews, averaging 4.0
- Contract term and setup are not stated
| Price | Price not published; quote on request |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms that want the accounts software and may want someone else to keep the books |
| Set-up | Not stated |
6. Best for firms that choose on the accounts
Insight Legal
Insight Legal puts legal accounts, case management, time recording, billing and a client portal in one system. Its page says the accounts package is tailored to each jurisdiction so that a firm meets the SRA Accounts Rules, and adds that the SRA runs no approval scheme for software. Workflows, document and email templates and conflict checks are in the product. AML checks, legal forms and property searches come through partners, with Index PI named for searches. It scores nothing for price or evidence: the pricing link on its site returned an error, Capterra UK lists it with no reviews and its Trustpilot page has none.
Pros
- Accounts, case management and billing in a single system
- Says plainly that the SRA does not approve software
- Property searches through a named partner
Cons
- No price on the website, and a broken pricing link
- No independent reviews found on Capterra UK or Trustpilot
- The AML check partners are not named on the page
| Price | Price not published; quote on request. The pricing link on the site led to a page-not-found error on the day |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms whose cashier or COFA is leading the choice |
| Set-up | Not stated; data migration, project management and training are listed as services |
7. Best for a larger firm that wants to build its own workflows
Actionstep
Actionstep describes itself as a platform for midsize law firms, and an eight-login practice is at the small end of what it is built for. It covers matters, workflow automation, document assembly, a client portal, time capture, billing and trust and client accounting, and is set up through certified implementation partners. The pages we read mention compliance with local trust accounting rules without naming the SRA Accounts Rules, and say nothing about identity checks, property searches or Land Registry work. No price is shown: the page says per user plus implementation fees. It holds 4.2 from 135 reviews on Capterra UK.
Pros
- Workflow automation and document assembly in the core product
- 135 Capterra UK reviews, averaging 4.2
- Time capture, billing and client accounting included
Cons
- No price on the website
- The SRA Accounts Rules are not named on the pages we read
- Implementation is a separate fee paid through a partner
| Price | Price not published; quote on request. The page says it is priced per user plus implementation fees |
|---|---|
| Best for | Firms larger than our example that have someone to configure the system |
| Set-up | Through one of its certified implementation partners, at a fee |
Side by side
| Clio Manage | Osprey Approach | LEAP | Hoowla | Quill (Dye & Durham) | Insight Legal | Actionstep | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eight users for a year | From £7,584 | £10,560 before VAT | Not published | £4,608 before VAT | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Price on its own website | Yes, a starting price for one plan | Yes | No | Yes, by calculator | No | No | No |
| Client and office ledgers in the product | Yes | Yes | Yes; nominal ledger in Xero | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Says its accounts follow the SRA Accounts Rules | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Identity and AML checks | Not stated | Yes | Not stated; onboarding through InfoTrack | Yes | Yes | Yes, through partners | Not stated |
| Searches, Stamp Duty or Land Registry work | Yes, searches through InfoTrack | Yes, through InfoTrack | Yes, through InfoTrack | Yes | Yes, Stamp Duty submission | Yes, searches through Index PI | Not stated |
| Contract term | Monthly or annual | 36 months | Not stated | Rolling | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Independent reviews | 1,748 on Capterra UK, 4.7 | 30 on Capterra UK, 3.9 | 547 on Capterra UK, 4.3 | 7 on Trustpilot, 2.3 | 24 on Capterra UK, 4.0 | None found | 135 on Capterra UK, 4.2 |
| Price | Core plan from £79 per user a month: 8 users is £632 a month, £7,584 a year at the starting price. The page does not say whether VAT is included. Signature and Elite plans are quoted | Advanced plan at £110 per licence a month: 8 licences is £880 a month, £10,560 a year before VAT. Premium at £140 is £13,440 a year. Minimum three licences | Price not published; quote on request. The pricing page describes one monthly subscription per user and asks for a form | £48 per user a month: 8 users is £384 a month, £4,608 a year before VAT. Conveyancing teams pay £24.50 for each completed case in place of a user fee | Price not published; quote on request | Price not published; quote on request. The pricing link on the site led to a page-not-found error on the day | Price not published; quote on request. The page says it is priced per user plus implementation fees |
How we ranked them
What counted: the jobs it covers for a small firm out of six (matters and workflows, document templates, time recording and billing, client and office ledgers inside the product, identity and anti-money-laundering checks, and conveyancing searches, Stamp Duty or Land Registry work), a third of a point each, up to 2; evidence it works, up to 1.5 (1.5 for 200 or more reviews on one independent site, 1 for 50 to 199, 0.5 for 10 to 49, nothing below ten); a full UK price you can read without a sales call, up to 1 (0.5 for a starting price only); the supplier's own page saying its legal accounts follow the SRA Accounts Rules, 0.5.
We read each supplier's pricing and product pages in a browser on 1 October 2026, and its Capterra UK or Trustpilot listing the same day. Each price is the monthly figure for one user multiplied by eight users and by twelve months, before VAT where the page says so. Migration, implementation and training are left out because no supplier prints a figure for them.
We ran no trials, so a score measures what each supplier publishes and what independent reviewers have counted, not how the software behaves in a firm. "Not stated" means the pages we read did not mention the point; that is an absence of a statement, not proof the product cannot do it. The four parts are added and rounded to the nearest half point, and products level on the rounded score are listed in the order of the unrounded one.
Three names a buyer may expect are left out. LawWare publishes no price. SOS describes itself on its own site as software for enterprise law firms, and Tikit's site did not load for us. Quill's website now redirects to Dye & Durham, so it appears under both names. This page is general information for firms choosing software, not legal or regulatory advice.
Questions people ask
How much does practice management software cost for a small law firm?
On the suppliers' own pages on 1 October 2026, for eight users: Hoowla £4,608 a year before VAT (£48 a user a month), Clio from £7,584 a year (Core plan, from £79 a user a month) and Osprey Approach £10,560 a year before VAT (£110 a licence a month). LEAP, Quill, Insight Legal and Actionstep publish no price. Migration and implementation are extra and are quoted.
Which is the cheapest case management system for a firm of eight?
Of the three with a price on the page, Hoowla at £4,608 a year before VAT, on a rolling contract. Clio's Core plan starts at £7,584 a year. Osprey Approach's Advanced plan is £10,560 in the first year on a standard 36-month term, with licence prices rising 5% on each anniversary. Read on 1 October 2026; four suppliers gave no figure to compare.
Which systems do legal accounts under the SRA Accounts Rules?
Six of the seven say so on their own pages, read on 1 October 2026: Clio, Osprey Approach, LEAP, Hoowla, Quill and Insight Legal. Actionstep's pages mention local trust accounting rules without naming the SRA's. Insight Legal's page points out that the SRA approves no software, and Hoowla's says responsibility for compliance stays with the firm and its managers.
Do Clio and LEAP work with Xero?
Yes, in different ways, on the pages read on 1 October 2026. Clio keeps client and office ledgers and reconciliation inside the product and connects to Xero or QuickBooks for the firm's own books. LEAP has office and client accounting built in and says the nominal ledger is kept in Xero, so a LEAP firm needs a Xero subscription as well.
How long is the contract?
Only three suppliers say. Osprey Approach's standard agreement is 36 months, with licence prices rising 5% on each anniversary of going live. Hoowla is a rolling contract with no setup fee. Clio lets a firm cancel at the end of its monthly or annual term and export its data for 90 days afterwards. The other four did not state a term on the pages read on 1 October 2026.
Does a small firm need practice management software at all?
The SRA Accounts Rules do not require software. Rules 8.1 and 8.3 require a ledger for each client matter with a client side and a business side, a cash book, and a client account reconciliation at least every five weeks, signed off by the COFA or a manager. A firm could keep those by hand or in a separate accounts package. The seven products here add the matter record, time recording and billing beside the ledgers. The cheapest published price we read on 1 October 2026 was £48 a user a month.
AEO Lookup editorial team
We write practical guides for people who run small UK firms, and we check every fact against its source on the date shown. Read how we review, or tell us if something has changed.



