Home › Solicitors › Running the firm
Running the firm
Can a solicitor use ChatGPT, Claude or Copilot for client work? What the business plans cost and what their terms say about your data
Business plans for ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot and Gemini cost a five-person firm £708 to £1,086 a year. What each vendor's terms say, set against the SRA's tests.

Yes, on conditions the firm has to meet itself. The SRA's warning notice of 17 August 2026 says client information should only go into an AI system that has contractual, technical and organisational safeguards, and that a paid tool may still lack them. On 1 October 2026 the business plans of the four large assistants cost a five-person firm between £708 and £1,086 a year.
Our guide to the warning notice covers the policy a firm needs. This page covers the purchase.
What the plans cost
Prices are for one user for one month, read on each vendor's UK pricing page on 1 October 2026.
| Plan | Billed annually | Billed monthly | VAT, as the page states it | Five users for a year, annual billing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Business, standard seat | £15 | £18 | Not stated | £900 |
| Claude Team, standard seat | £18 | £22.50 | Included at 20% | £1,080 |
| Microsoft 365 Copilot Business, added to an existing Microsoft 365 business plan | £13.80 | £19.32 | Not included | £828 |
| Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot | £18.10 | £21.72 | Not included | £1,086 |
| Google Workspace Business Standard, Gemini included | £11.80 | Not read | Not stated | £708 |
Three notes on the table:
- Claude's £18 includes VAT, so it is £15 before VAT. ChatGPT's page shows £15 and does not say whether VAT is in it.
- Microsoft's £13.80 is an offer for the first year of an annual commitment, open from 1 July to 31 December 2026. The page gives £16.10 as the original price, which is £966 a year for five.
- Google's page also shows a lower introductory price for new customers. £11.80 is the standard price on a one-year commitment.
The two Business Standard rows include email and office software; a firm already on Microsoft 365 is pricing the add-on.
What the terms say about your data
The SRA's notice lists what a firm should satisfy itself of before client data goes in: it stays in a secure environment, unauthorised third parties cannot reach it, it is not used to train models unless that is explicitly authorised, and it is not kept longer than necessary. Each vendor's own pages say this.
| Vendor | Training on business-plan content | Retention and location, as published |
|---|---|---|
| OpenAI | Not used to train models by default; used only if the customer opts in, for example through feedback | Workspace admins set retention. Deleted conversations go within 30 days unless the law or protecting the service requires longer. A data processing addendum is available |
| Anthropic | The Commercial Terms say Anthropic "may not train models on Customer Content"; feedback a user chooses to send can be used | Customer content is the customer's confidential information under the terms. Custom retention controls are listed under Enterprise, not Team |
| Microsoft | Prompts, responses and data reached through Microsoft Graph are not used to train foundation models | Stored with the firm's other Microsoft 365 content; admins can set retention policies. Customers outside the EU may have queries processed in the US, the EU or other regions |
| Content is not human reviewed or used for model training outside the customer's domain without permission | Admins control whether Gemini conversations are saved, and for how long |
Each line is a published statement. The contract is the terms accepted at sign-up, so save a dated copy and record the admin settings chosen.
Free and personal plans are a different product. OpenAI's page says it trains on data from its services for individuals, and the Law Society's guide says not to put confidential data into a free online tool.
What the SRA and the Law Society have published
- SRA warning notice, 17 August 2026. The firm stays accountable for work done through AI, and supervisors for the work they supervise. Putting client material into a public tool is likely to breach confidentiality, and privilege may be permanently waived.
- SRA Risk Outlook report on AI in the legal market. The notice points to it for governance and training.
- Law Society, "Generative AI – the essentials". The page says it was updated in June 2026, before the notice. It advises supplier due diligence, attention to the limited warranties in providers' terms, and fictional data, never client data, for testing.
Three prompts for routine work that is not advice
Use them inside the firm's approved business account.
- Plain-English rewrite. "Rewrite this paragraph from our standard client care letter for a first-time buyer. Keep every figure, date and defined term exactly as written. Add nothing. List any sentence you found ambiguous."
- Chronology. "From the emails pasted below, make a table of every dated event: date, who, what happened, and the line it comes from, quoted. Do not infer a date. List gaps of more than 14 days."
- Weekly client update. "Draft a four-paragraph update to a purchase client: where the matter is, what we did this week, what happens next and who holds it, when they will next hear. Use only the facts below. Do not suggest a completion date."
The third follows our client update template. The admin scorecard counts the hours jobs like these take.
The job we would not hand over
Finding the law for a document that goes before a court. The notice cites several judgments on fabricated or unchecked authorities, starting with Ayinde in 2025, where the lawyers faced a wasted costs application and were referred to their regulators. It says reliance on an AI output would not be a defence. If a tool suggests an authority, a solicitor reads the judgment itself before it is cited.
Before buying
- Set retention in the admin console, and switch off feedback sharing where the plan allows it.
- Add the tool to the approved list in the firm's AI policy, and tell clients in the client care letter.
- Ask the firm's case management supplier whether its own AI features come under separate terms.
Overlyft
is not one of these plans; the assistants it sets up draft client updates and chasers for a fee earner to review. A supervising solicitor reviews and signs anything a tool drafts. This page is general information, not legal or regulatory advice. Prices change, so check the vendor's page on the day.
Short answers from this page
How much do the business plans of ChatGPT, Claude and Microsoft Copilot cost a small law firm?
On 1 October 2026 a standard seat cost £15 a month on ChatGPT Business and £18 including VAT on Claude Team, both billed annually. Microsoft 365 Copilot Business, added to an existing Microsoft 365 plan, was £13.80 before VAT on a first-year offer. For five users that is £900, £1,080 and £828 a year. Each vendor's page says business-plan content is not used to train its models by default.
Source: Each vendor's UK pricing page and data terms, read 1 October 2026; our arithmetic
Where this comes from: chatgpt.com/pricing and OpenAI "Enterprise privacy" (updated 8 January 2026); claude.com/pricing, Anthropic Commercial Terms of Service (effective 17 June 2025) and Anthropic privacy centre; Microsoft UK Microsoft 365 Copilot business pricing page and Microsoft Learn "Data, Privacy, and Security for Microsoft Copilot" (updated 18 August 2026); workspace.google.com UK pricing and "Generative AI in Google Workspace Privacy Hub" (updated 14 August 2026); SRA, "Misuse of AI: warning notice" (17 August 2026); Law Society, "Generative AI – the essentials"; all read on 2026-10-01.
AEO Lookup editorial team
We write practical guides for people who run small UK firms, and we check every fact against its source on the date shown. Read how we review, or tell us if something has changed.



